Robert Palmer

8 Aug

This past weekend was filled with lots of fun and a new world of discovery.

Who knew you could sear meat over a too hot grill and still come out with steak tartar? “I’m really sorry about that – you OK”? (Brought up and spoken many, many, many times and laughed about even more). And why is it that despite all of our technological advances we still can’t get rid of the dozens of tangled wires, multiple redundant remotes with hundreds of button pushing possibilities and just have a few laughs watching Rocky Horror?

Doesn’t it seem as if the world momentarily stops turning, a crowd is as still as a black and white photo and everyone’s iris dilates when a two-year old falls face first in a parking lot? Dad picks them up and their feet are still moving as if they’ve never left land. No harm? Breath again.

And, is there any better atmosphere than sitting at an open-air bar in the bright sunshine, sipping cold beer or martinis and feeding each other raw oysters sprinkled with hot sauce while watching a ball game and discovering her PDA limit?

The second best (not the first mind you) memory has to be that I renewed my acquaintance with Harvard Square. Last time I was there, it was filled with pedestrians jaywalking to their own rhythm of the lights, performance artists’ being photographed just because they’re there, guitar cases wide open with probably ten one dollar bills and some change in them under the watchful eye of someone with a cheap Gibson knockoff, delightful freaks of all genres who seem to have no knowledge that it’s all been fashionably done before (and thusly their version of unique is as tired as a velvet Elvis that glows under a strobe light), studious looking professionals playing games on their expensive laptops in the bookstores and the overpriced shops that are packed to the gill with goods and cash.

So, I observed that nothing has really changed.

But, it’s the thrill of being there – the Carney atmosphere that’s still so intoxicating and the battering ram of memories flooding back that sometimes suspended me above the conversation. You can never go home, but what you can do is go back to the square and revel in amazed amusement.

Back in the day, I worked in the only music establishment in the square and so the locals, the tourists, the up and coming band members and the famous used to mill about together elbow to elbow rifling through the bins. I remember seeing a hoard of my favorite Boston band members there such as The Atlantics, Didi Stuart and The Amplifiers, The Neighborhoods, The Cars … and I, the self-appointed DJ, playing whatever my fingers could reach for. 45’s were my favorite staple, because they were already open and easily playable.

Although, there were a few albums opened ‘by mistake’. A few of these were by Robert Palmer (he who once was voted by Rolling Stone as ‘best dressed rock star’) and I must have played Robert Palmer albums translucent judging by how hardened they are in my memory of my time at that store.

You Really Got Me
A breezy, but hardened edge, gives this cover an elite status among his most accomplished cuts. I remember the patrons throughout the store looking up at me every time I edged the volume up, as if silently questioning the capacity of the system and the obvious trembling of the wares in their hands. A lovely memory of this track with now another to associate it with.

Girl, you really got me goin’
You got me, so I don’t know what I’m doin’
Yeah, you really got me now
You got me, so I can’t sleep at night

Oh yeah, you really got me now
You got me, so I don’t know what I’m doin’
Oh yeah, you really got me now
You got me, so I can’t sleep at night

You really got me
You really got me
You really got me

Best Of Both Worlds
Palmer accelerated at the reggae/pop co-mix and this is a high prime number among his repertoire. Perfect soundtrack for a kid with nothing better to do than play records, get a break at noon and wander the square’s visual madness and generally waste time with a wide grin and a heady feeling of musical entitlement. Surprising to me that this would take on fresh, new meaning when I wandered about this past weekend.

We’ll make the most, girl
To get the best of both worlds
We must obey the law

What good’s a place to stand up
Without a place to fall?

Two and one
Fast and slow girl
The best of both worlds
Double fun

I’d like to now propose a toast
To the best of both worlds

You Really Got Me
Best of Both Worlds
Robert Palmer:  Double Fun [1978]

Addendum:
Well, first post on WordPress. Anything’s got to be more user-friendly than what I was using (and it is), so I’m giving this a try. Alignment of pictures, how I can insert alternate text types and other odd bits are still to be mastered, but all in all, I’m most likely moving to higher ground. Thanks to suggestions from the folks at The Hits Just Keep On Coming and Echoes In The Wind.

5 Responses to “Robert Palmer”

  1. whiteray 08/10/2010 at 8:50 PM #

    It works and works well. Nice post, nice place. Have fun.

    • gotthefever 08/10/2010 at 11:09 PM #

      Hey Pal, Thanks very much for the comment – much appreciated. I’ve enjoyed it so far, but damn is it hard to get questions answered! I askedMANY questions in the Forum section, but today, I can’t even find one!!!! So F***ing frustrating! The HELP in WordPress is SO severely lacking! Like I said, I posted many, many questions. When I signed on again, I couldn’t find even one of the questions to see if there was a reply!!! So, I searched on gotthefever thinking that my posts would show up that way – no such thing. I didn’t get a tag number to look for, can’t find it in key word searches …. WTF? I feel like a jerk without experience – on a blog for the first time! How can I change my title from “gotthefever’s Blog” to Got The Fever? The interface I was presented with never said “what you choose here will be the title that all who visit will see”. Is it true that I get only ONE font to use? Only ONE? I’m forcedto join another site just to get other BASIC fonts?

      Where is the HELP for finding out how to get past posts (from Blogger) into WordPress? Is there some type of procedure? I’m sure that I just have to copy/paste somewhere, but WHERE and HOW to get it to the right hand side in chrolological order? How the Hell do you find the posts that have your help questions in them? Again, their help either really sucks, or I’m just a newbie with a lot to learn. Probably both. All vented. Kevin

  2. whiteray 08/25/2010 at 2:49 AM #

    Man, I’m sorry I didn’t get back to you on this. I feel like a twit. I just never looked for a response to my note. I hope you’ve got some of those questions sorted out. I, too, found the help at WordPress wanting. I’m still using WordPress software, and there are things I’d like to have known, too. I miss some things about Blogger’s software, but just kind of muddle along. I assume some of these questions got answered by trial and error if nothing else; if you still have some, email me and we’ll see if if I’m smarter than a doorknob

  3. WZJN 10/09/2010 at 9:38 PM #

    No matter with whom, it will be among my most treasured memories. “We all shine on, like the moon and the stars and the sun.”

    But, “Imagine” … that the possibility still may exist.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. JWL « Got The Fever - 10/09/2010

    […] hopping on a train for NYC the day after tragedy struck. This past summer, in an eye of a storm, I spoke about how much I still want to go to NYC to visit the memorial in its entire […]

Leave a Reply

