Bob Seger

4 Dec

Even when I was a kid I knew what the all the girls meant by owning their own ‘silver bullet’.

Bob was great in his time. He was good-looking enough for all the girls and had those tender ballads like ‘Main Street‘, ‘You’ll Accompany Me‘ and ‘Like A Rock‘ (he jumped the shark for me there) but was gritty enough for all the guys with his rockers like ‘Katmandu‘, ‘Nutbush City Limits‘ and ‘Her Strut‘. Then there were the middle of the road songs that everyone sang to, ‘Turn The Page‘, ‘Old Time Rock and Roll‘ (would rather lop off a limb than to hear it again though) and ‘Hollywood Nights‘.

But, give it up to him – he persevered, endured, evolved and is still rocking today. At once time in the late 70’s to mid 80’s you couldn’t turn on the radio without hearing one of his compositions – he just kept churning out hits.

Originally from Detroit (where he built up a huge following in the mid-west), he’s always been a real meat and potatoes blue-collar singer, and in his early career put out a slew of albums with the band name of The Bob Seger System. He later changed the backup band name to The Silver Bullet Band and deserved fame came his way.

After that his songs were used to peddle cars.

Come to Poppa
This is more of what Bob was in his earlier days – blues without the strategically bogged down pyrotechnics, and soul without the pretentiousness and hard polish of over production. Man, you ain’t never gonna come closer to sexual tension laced with wah-wah pedal than you will with this.

If you need a pacifier
Call me anytime
I’ll try to be your satisfier

If you feel
Like a horse
Blazin’ at the bit
Call my number

Anytime night or day
I’ll get ya fixed

If life gets hard to understand
And your whole life is way out of hand
Come to Poppa

Come see your poppa

The Fire Down Below
Now this is what I call a classic, heavy stompin’, beer drinking, head nodding, danceable track that keeps a grin on your face well after the last woofer has stopped vibrating. For charging up a crowd on both sides of the bar or stadium, once more, it ain’t gonna get better than this. Listen for the moan and ecstasy of the lead after each ‘Watch ’em come and watch ’em go’. And when he shouts out 1-2-3 near the end, you almost lean in a bit waiting to get splashed face first with the instrumental encore.

It happens out in Vegas, it happens in Moline
On the blue blood streets of Boston
Up in Berkley and out in Queens
And it went on yesterday and it’s going on tonight
Somewhere there’s somebody ain’t treatin’ somebody right

And he’s looking out for Rosie and she’s looking mighty fine
And he’s walking the streets for Nancy
And he’ll find her every time
When the street lights flicker bringing on the night
Well they’ll be slipping into darkness slipping out of sight

All through the shadows
Watch ’em come and watch ’em go
With only one thing in common
They got the fire down below
With only one thing in common
They got the fire down below
1-2-3!

Yea, he sold his song to push cars for Detroit, but even so, Bob was a powerhouse who deserves more than to be known for a sappy ballad or two. Try him out one more time.

And I’d be interested to hear from those who hail from the mid-west – any early memories of him when he played in his earliest bands?

Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band: Night Moves [1976]
Come to Poppa
The Fire Down Below

4 Responses to “Bob Seger”

  1. whiteray 12/14/2010 at 6:33 AM #

    “Like A Rock” is when he jumped the shark for me, too. I do like some things from this year’s “Face the Promise, though. Still, there are only sour essential Seger tracks for me, and they’re pretty predictable, I suppose: “Night Moves,” “Mainstreet,” “Roll Me Away” and “Turn the Page.” On the other hand, four is more than a lot of folks get . . . Good post!

    • Got The Fever 12/16/2010 at 10:57 AM #

      Four is more than a lot out there, you’re right. I’m agreeing with ‘Night Moves’ and ‘Main Street’, still classic to me maybe beacuse of their haunting melody.

  2. Casey 12/14/2010 at 3:28 PM #

    Bob has been that artist who seems to have been around forever…and yet the hard-working rocker from Michigan has (for what ever reason) been unfairly labeled a second rate Springsteen.

    I like the boss, too. Alot. But truth be known, I enjoy the warmer tenor of the ‘Seg’ just a bit more.

    Gotta admit though, when one of Seger’s songs was attached to a truck building company…I groaned. (yea, I know, Bob’s reason was helping the factories in desperate need in his home town)

    Bottomline is…Seger has been much too long under-appreciated…and that only endears me to his corner even more!

    Merry Christmas, my long blogging friend, and hope all of us music loving bloggers everywhere have a great New Year!
    Peace.

    • Got The Fever 12/16/2010 at 11:00 AM #

      I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I’ve never been a ‘fan’ of Bruce. Taboo I know, and I do like a song here and there, but nothing that’s ever caused me to go ‘Wow’.

      A very, merry Christmas to you too my friend and a prosperous New Year!

Leave a Reply

