Christmas 2010

22 Dec

After all, if kids can give you the spirit of the holidays with their chomping at the bit anticipation of Christmas morning, why not join in? Even if only for their sake. So come on Christmas!

Merry Christmas, My Love
I first stumbled on the D’s 3 when I was a huge fan of MP3.com back in the day… was it the mid 90’s? The site had all sorts of goodies and around one Christmas I happened upon this track. An utterly delightful, original song it sways and lulls a perfect Christmas chestnut. I couldn’t find anything on the band through a simple search so I don’t know if they’re around anymore. But I did find a mini bio still on MP3.com:

The D’s 3 are a whirlwind of talent that can only be described as GREAT. This mother-daughter trio has a fresh, inviting sound that mesmerizes audiences of all ages. With five albums to their name, The D’s 3 are a diversified and established band. But what makes The D’s 3 such a special band is their ability to compose original music in addition to covering some of the world’s best standards. Their repertoire includes a vast range of musical genres including, but not limited to, Jazz, Pop, Latin, Jumpin’ Jive, Swing, and Broadway.

Pick up a hooked ornament ready for placing on the tree, have a bite of a frosted cookie and let this one become a pleasing favorite that hits the special day’s meaning just right. It would do your heart good this time around to hear something quaint, gentle and soothing without electric cacophony.

It’s not about the presents
Covered with ribbons and bows.
All I want is to be with you
Underneath the mistletoe!
Hold me, don’t ever let me go.
Whisper in my ear, just how much you love me so!

The D’s 3: Merry Christmas, My Love

2 Responses to “Christmas 2010”

  1. jb 12/23/2010 at 12:00 PM #

    Sweet little tune–thanks a lot, and merry Christmas/happy solstice/have a nice weekend to you and yours.

    • WZJN 12/23/2010 at 12:30 PM #

      Glad you like it jb. Sweet is an appropriate term for the track – add in a bit of nostalgia for the type of music that was popular when our parents were hanging the stockings by themselves and I think you’ve got a pleasing and plump holiday plum that’s well worth hanging out for many Christmas’ to come.

      A Merry Christmas to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

