Thoughts

27 Dec

Teena Marie has died at age 54. She had a funk driven sound and though I love funk, and a track here and there by Teena, I was never particularly drawn to her.

However, I’m reading that she was the first, the very first, white artist signed to Motown Records. I’m questioning that. It’s my belief that Rare Earth was the very first white band signed to Motown Records when the label signed them to a brand new subsidiary label called Rare Earth records back in the 60’s. Technically they did not have the Motown label on their output, but doesn’t a subsidiary technically count as being on Motown Records? I’d appreciate any comments on this.

Here in central Mass we were supposed to get a huge snowfall. The Governor called a state of emergency, parking bans were in effect and the snow blanket was to be a white chlorophyl to all activities. But, I look out this morning and it seems that we only received maybe six inches.

Man, I so dislike all the hype surrounding the snow that we get year after year, storm after storm, channel upon channel. Every storm seems to get penultimate TV and radio coverage and they build it up with such a frenzy that you’d think disaster and panic are falling instead of snow. As to the accuracy, I know it’s not an exact science, but six inches is a far cry from the eighteen inches predicted.

2 Responses to “Thoughts”

  1. darcy 01/04/2011 at 7:32 PM #

    I always thought the first white act on Motown was Chris Clark. Then, later in the 60s, there was Kiki Dee and R Dean Taylor. But, after a bit of Googling, it would seem the honour goes to Debbie Dean.

    (Incidentally I was a big fan of Teena’s and have been moping around a bit these last few days).

  2. Got The Fever 01/07/2011 at 10:33 PM #

    Damn man, I always thought it was Rare Earth that was first signed to Motown! But, I bow to your more in depth knowledge and thank you for giving it up to set me straight.

    It was a shame about Teena – much too young in my view, and judging by fan comments on the web, she’ll be much missed.

Leave a Reply

