Happy New Year 2011

30 Dec

Well, another year has now been designated as one of those ‘years gone by’. Another year that when I was little seemed so impossibly far into the future that I thought of it as a time when I’d be old and decrepit. Now, I look more realistically at 2050 as the time when I’ll be fragile and having my nightly gruel spooned into my trembling lips. Ugh! What a thought!

But, until then, let’s ring in 2011 with Lightning Hopkins and his stomp on a brand new year! Bright and crisp, his guitar playing is a certain finger snappin’, head noddin’ number that we’re lucky to have and is a welcome addition to any party hovering toward midnight on any given December 31st.

This track comes from my indispensable disk “Blue Yule Christmas: Blues and R&B Classics”, a must have for you that are into roots holiday music, but Lightning’s original is on Brunswick and recorded in 1953.

This is a Happy New Year
Ain’t gonna worry me to death!
Don’t think about Christmas,
Cause Christmas just done left.

Lightning Hopkins: Happy New Year
Blue Yule Christmas: Blues and R&B Classics

I hope that 2011 is the year that will bring in peace, happiness, prosperity, health and fruition of all ancillary dreams for all of my blog friends out there!

Well, a bonus! A quick search on YouTube brought me to a video that’s not a performance, but a passable pastiche of photos and paintings. Nice to have something, rather than nothing!

4 Responses to “Happy New Year 2011”

  1. whiteray 01/01/2011 at 11:10 PM #

    You know, if I make it to January 1, 2050, I’ll be ninety-six. And I already have days when I feel old and decrepit. Happy New Year! (It’s always a good time for some Lightning Hopkins.)

    • WZJN 01/02/2011 at 3:37 PM #

      You know, we’ll all be there sooner or later. Althought it seems some sooner than others. However, even I feel old and decrepit somedays also. I’m not too far behind you.

      Lightning Hopkins – yea, you’re right, it’s always a good time to break out the man!

      Le the New Year bring you peace and happiness my friend and thanks for stopping by!

  2. darcy 01/04/2011 at 7:43 PM #

    I will also be in my 90s should I make it to 2050, not far behind Whiteray. I can all to easily be a “glass half empty” sort of guy and on NYE I’m always glum as it’s my birthday and I seem to end up in a “another year over, another year older” black mood.

    It’s funny, we were talking today at work and a colleague who is about 10 years ahead of me down the road of life was saying he finds 2011 a sort of landmark – when he was young he looked forward to 2011 and couldn’t imagine what it would possibly be like, except that he was sure we would be all travelling around with jet packs on our back. And now we’re here and nothing is that different really, is it? – except for this internet thingy, and the fact that we are all living longer which means we may make it to 2050.

    Happy New Year to you!

    • Got The Fever 01/07/2011 at 10:41 PM #

      Well, a happy birthday is in order! Many, many more to come your way I’m sure.

      I was always kind of in the middle of the pack as far as age went hanging around with frinds. It wasn’t until my kids started adding the magic ‘teen’ after their age that I started feeling older. Well, that and also the fact that when the Grammy’s are announced I don’t know who they are!

      Oh, and also the way my kids look at me when I play Lennon, Tower of Power, Prince, Def Leppard … the remind me of the way I’d look at my own Dad when he played Gleason, Sinatra, Mathis or Doo-Wop.

      When did that start happening?

Leave a Reply

